活跃乐龄理事会 > 活跃乐龄与健康的七个领域 以及生命周期的四个阶段 > 心理健康

控制好情绪

学会在情绪紧张时控制住自己的情绪,对心理健康非常有利。

Image
分享

Facebook Email


生活中总有情绪盖过理性思维的时候。识别和确认情绪的类型和影响对学习控制自己的情绪有极大的帮助。日常生活中那些想要保持整天都平静的人往往能很好控制自己的情绪和情感。

 

生活中,情绪无疑扮演着重要的角色,人往往基于情感做出决定。然而,情绪失控和情绪反复就会发生问题,进而压力增加。学会控制自己的情绪,就有助于保持一种稳定的人生观。这些可通过情感意识和情感应对技能来实现。

 

学会控制情绪就是要学会平衡内部感觉与外部环境因素。这涉及到如何把真实的感觉表达出来而又无责备他人之意。这也涉及到他人对你的不带指责的感觉。它不是一种操控过程; 而是一种认可。它只意味着你承认自己的感觉并能在无身体或言语暴力或在无操控情况下表达那些情感。

 

管理自己的情绪

很多人要么意识不到自己的情绪,要么就是整天为自己的不良情绪而烦恼,却不知道如何根据自己的感受采取应对措施。就如何管理情绪并别让其控制你的生活,下面列出一些方法:

 

  1. 注意自己的感觉,但不要刻意进行压制。隐藏自己的感受并不等同于控制感受。如果你积压自己的情绪,让它们像火山的熔岩一样堆积,那么你可能会以某种最坏的方式宣泄情绪,最终伤害到别人或使自己难堪。请记住,有情绪并无可厚非/(没有错),只是闷在心里或向无辜的旁人发泄对健康不利。
  2. 搞清楚自己的感觉。你感到愤怒、悲伤、被伤害、失望,还是嫉妒? 问问自己为什么会这样。例如,如果你碰到愤怒控制方面的困难,那么试着写日记来记录你在一天中不同时间的感受。这样有助于你找出引起你心烦意乱的事由以及如何管理这种情形。
  3. 采取行动或找人交谈。如果邻居的闹钟响铃时间比你计划醒来的时间早一小时,刺耳的响铃把你激怒,那么看看你的邻居能否调低铃声,或自己能否找副耳塞塞住耳朵。如果情况不是那么明确,尽量与你信任的人、专业人士或当事人讨论你的感受。
  4. 正确处理你的过去。如果你不能采取行动,甚至不能说出你的感受,问问自己为什么不能够。检讨自己是否正在找借口来避免与自己过去相关的更深层次的问题。也许年幼时你大胆地说话总是引来大声呵斥和殴打,这导致你现在害怕说出真实感受。但要认识到,你已不再处于同样的环境,所以你不必再以同样的方式作出反应。
  5. 做一些体力活动。如果你与他人争斗,那么先停下来休息一下或进行一些体力活动来缓解紧张局面,如散散步、跑跑步或做做园艺活。有些人,无论出现怎样的压力,一开始便诉怨、唠叨、酗酒或做出其他暂时缓解压力的负面行为。这些行为既白白消耗了精力,又没有把问题解决掉。参加有规律的体育锻炼有助于延缓问题,但问题仍然需要解决,并且宜早不宜迟。
  6. 做深呼吸练习。无论何种类型的冥想都需要意识到自己的呼吸并做深呼吸练习。这是因为呼吸恢复代谢均衡,带来平衡。无论多么繁忙,都想办法挤出时间来闭上眼睛,做十次深呼吸。如果能每天进行冥想,刚有极端情绪时就开始抵御,那就更好。研究表明,那些做冥想练习的人冷静、不易发怒,也能够更好地积极解决问题。如果你不喜欢报名参加课程,那就从众多的教学CD中选出一些来帮助自己练习。
  7. 学会自嘲。有幽默感是种财富,能够自嘲能让心情变好。幽默感也能让自己变得更坚强。

About us > 7 Dimensions of Wellness & The 4 Ages in a Life Cycle > Emotional Wellness

Managing your emotions

Learning to control your emotions during times of emotional stress can be beneficial to your mental health.

Image
Share

Facebook Email

Related Topics


There are always points in life where emotions overcome rational thought. It is recognising and validating the types and impact of emotions that will help you while learning to control your emotions. Emotions and feelings are often controlled in daily life by people who want to maintain a calm focal point throughout the day.

 

Emotions certainly play a big part in life, and decisions are often based on feelings. However, the problem occurs when emotions are out of control, inconsistent, and increase stress. Learning to control your emotions can help maintain a focused outlook on life. This is done through emotional awareness and emotional coping skills.

 

Learning to control your emotions is really balancing the internal feelings with the external environment. It is about how you honestly feel and expressing that without blaming others. It is also about how others feel without placing internal blame on yourself. It is not manipulative; it is validating. It only means that you recognise what you are feeling and can express those feelings without physical or verbal violence or manipulation.

 

Take charge of your emotions 

Many people are either unaware of their emotions, or spend their lives stewing in their negative emotions, not knowing how to act on what their feelings are telling them. Here is how to manage your emotions and stop them from controlling your life:

 

  1. Be aware of your feelings, but don’t suppress them. Hiding your feelings is not the same as managing them. If you hold onto your emotions and let them build like lava in a volcano, you are going to explode in the worst possible way and end up hurting someone else or embarrassing yourself. Remember, it’s not wrong to have feelings; it’s just not healthy to stew in them or unleash them on innocent bystanders.
  2. Recognise your feelings. Are you feeling angry, sad, hurt, disappointed, or jealous? Ask yourself why. If you have an anger management issue, for instance, try keeping a journal to record how you feel at different times of the day. That will help you figure out what gets you upset and how to manage the situation. 
  3. Take action or talk to someone. If hearing your neighbour’s alarm clock going off an hour earlier than you need to be awake gets you all riled up, for instance, see if you can get your neighbour to soften his alarm clock or if you can get a pair of ear plugs that will cut out the sound of his alarm. If the situation is not as clear cut, try discussing your feelings with someone you trust, a professional or even with the person with whom you are having an issue.
  4. Deal with your past. If you can’t take action and can’t even talk about your feelings, ask yourself why not and check if you are making excuses to avoid more deep-seated issues related to your past. Perhaps speaking up as a child always got you yelled at and beaten up, which is why you are afraid to bring up how you really feel now. Realise that you are no longer in the same situation and that you need not respond in the same way anymore. 
  5. Do something physical. If you are in the midst of a fight, for instance, take a breather or relieve the tension by doing something physical like walking, running or gardening. As the pressure of whatever it is that is affecting them starts to build, some people turn to whining, nagging, alcohol abuse or other negative pursuit that temporarily relieves the pressure but wastes energy and leaves the problem unsolved. Engaging in regular physical exercise helps take the edge off but the problem still needs to be resolved at some point – sooner rather than later.
  6. Engage in deep breathing exercises. Any type of meditation entails being aware of your breath and doing deep breathing exercises. This is because breathing restores your metabolic equilibrium and brings balance. No matter how busy you might be, find the time to close your eyes and take ten deep breaths. Even better, meditate on a daily basis and ward off emotional extremes before they begin. Studies show that people who meditate are calm, slower to anger, and better able to resolve problems positively. If you prefer not to take up a class, there are plenty of CDs that can help you learn the practice.
  7. Learn to laugh at yourself.  Having a sense of humour about things is an asset.  Being able to laugh at yourself may improve your mood, as humour is one of the possible factor in developing personal resilience.

 


The views, material and information presented by any third party are strictly the views of such third party. Without prejudice to any third party content or materials whatsoever are provided for information purposes and convenience only. Council For Third Age shall not be responsible or liable for any loss or damage whatsoever arising directly or indirectly howsoever in connection with or as a result of any person accessing or acting on any information contained in such content or materials. The presentation of such information by third parties on this Council For Third Age website does not imply and shall not be construed as any representation, warranty, endorsement or verification by Council For Third Age in respect of such content or materials.