活跃乐龄理事会 > 活跃乐龄与健康的七个领域 以及生命周期的四个阶段 > 生理健康

年长者的体格锻炼 第2部分

采取合理的饮食和运动策略,就可积极充满活力和健康地度过一生。

Image
分享

Facebook Email


那么,如果你正想找到合适的体格锻炼指导,首先该从那样做起呢?

 

毫无疑问,简单而最有益的运动是步行。任何地方都可进行这项运动。无需任何特殊设备,也无需成为健身房的会员,你所需的只是一双适合走路的便鞋,一套宽松的衣服以及对生活热情。步行将给你带来以下回报:

 

  1. 精力更充沛。
  2. 感觉更好。
  3. 有助放松。
  4. 减少压力。
  5. 帮助控制食欲。
  6. 有助减肥。
  7. 降低体内胆固醇含量。

 

刚开始运动时,要一步一步来。如果你曾整天坐在沙发上迷恋电视,那么别刚开始步行锻炼便尝试一次走好几公里。正确的方法是刚开始时放慢步行的速度,不走太长的路程,然后再逐渐增加步行速度和距离。记得穿上一双舒适的运动鞋,这种鞋在低强度运动时也有减震作用。此外,在鞋底垫上凝胶鞋垫以增加对冲击力的吸收也是一种很好的想法,这样关节就不会受到损伤。步行锻炼时,要记住常喝水和多喝水。

 

一次该走多长时间才合适?该间隔多长时间步行一次?这些都可根据实际情况自行决定。但请记住这一点:当你已多年没有锻炼,现在重新开始时,可能像步行这样的基本运动都会令你感到有点吃力。刚开始时,一次步行15分钟就已足够。运动过后留意自己的身体状况,让自己休息好(最初可能需要几天时间才能完全恢复)。当你恢复好后,便开始进行下一次运动。在日记本或训练指导簿上记录所取得的进步,观察每次步行所增加的距离和时间。

 

体能得到增强后,你就可每天步行30分钟了。步行会消耗能量,所以随着运动能力的进步,腿上的肌肉就会增加并变得结实,骨骼和关节也会变得强壮。

 

至于什么时间适合步行运动,我们建议尽量在早晨的第一时间完成。这样就能确保每天得到锻炼。

 

如果你已有能力接受更大的锻炼挑战(但需经医生批准),那么就可以开始进行重量训练,把它作为体格锻炼的下一个项目。许多年长者体验到了重量训练对改善肌肉状况的更大益处。刚开始新锻炼项目始终都是要一步一步来,在医生的批准下逐步增加运动量。

About us > 7 Dimensions of Wellness & The 4 Ages in a Life Cycle > Physical Wellness

Physical fitness for seniors (Part 2)

By adopting a sensible strategy of diet and exercise, you can be active, vigorous and healthy throughout your life.

Image
Share

Facebook Email

Related Topics


So, if you are looking for a proper guide to physical fitness, what should you do first?

 

Without a doubt, the single most beneficial exercise is walking. You can do it anywhere. You don’t need any special equipment or a gym membership. All you need is a good pair of walking shoes, some loose fitting clothing and a zest for life. In turn walking will: 

 

  1. Give you more energy.
  2. Make you feel better.
  3. Help you to relax.
  4. Reduce your stress levels.
  5. Help to control your appetite.
  6. Help you to lose weight.
  7. Help you to lower your cholesterol. 

 

But start out slow. If you have been a couch potato for too long, you don’t want to start out and try and walk several kilometres at a time. The way to do this is to start slow and slowly increase the speed and distance of your walks. Always drink plenty of water and wear a good pair of sneakers. They should be shock absorbing for a low impact workout and in addition, it might be a good idea to get a pair of gel inserts for the sneakers to increase the shock absorbency so that your joints are less likely to become damaged.

 

How long should you walk? How often should you walk? These questions are up to you. Just remember that when you first start out, if you have not exercised for years, starting even a basic exercise like walking can be difficult. A single 15-minute may be enough, to start off with. So, pay attention to your body, allow yourself time to rest (it may take a few days when you start out for you to fully recover) and when you recover, start again. Keep track of your progress through a journal or training guide and watch distances you walk improve and time you walk increase over time.

 

After building up your strength, you should be in a position to walk for 30 minutes daily. As you progress, this daily walk will burn calories, increase the muscle mass in your legs as well as keep your bones and joints strong.

 

As far as when to walk, try and do it first thing in the morning. This way it ensures that you get your daily exercise in.

 

And if you up for a greater challenge (and if your doctor approves) the next step on the way to physical fitness is for you to start a weight training programme. Many senior citizens experience even more benefits from the muscle conditioning that a weight training programme can offer. Always start out slow and with your doctor’s approval.


The views, material and information presented by any third party are strictly the views of such third party. Without prejudice to any third party content or materials whatsoever are provided for information purposes and convenience only. Council For Third Age shall not be responsible or liable for any loss or damage whatsoever arising directly or indirectly howsoever in connection with or as a result of any person accessing or acting on any information contained in such content or materials. The presentation of such information by third parties on this Council For Third Age website does not imply and shall not be construed as any representation, warranty, endorsement or verification by Council For Third Age in respect of such content or materials.