活跃乐龄理事会 > 活跃乐龄与健康的七个领域 以及生命周期的四个阶段 > 职业健康

累了?退休了?规划新的职业 第1部分

生命只有一次,而且人生是一个独特的机会。

Image
分享

Facebook Email


定义

职业健康指的是获得个人满足感而来的能力 - 无论是工作或义工 - 同时保持一个健康生活的平衡。

 

职业健康的人通过从事与自己的个人价值观、兴趣和信仰一致的工作来实现满足感和成就感。有目的地选取自己职业的人会觉得奉献出自己的技能、经验和才能对其本人非常有价值。此外,职业健康可以延伸至志愿服务。每个人都有自己独特的可用来造福社会的天分、才能、职业技能或长处。把时间和精力的投入到志愿服务将收到成倍的回报,它是一种丰富人生的过程,而不是在消耗精力和资源。

 

只有你自己可以决定你要做什么。人生中你所选择从事的工作,将会影响你成为什么样的人,会给后人留下什么样的宝贵财富。

 

在人生历程中,工作的目的随着时间的推移会有很大变化。为了更好地继续成长,也为了适应新设立的目标,我们需要作出改变,这是无可避免的。20多岁时,我们在证明自己;30多岁时,我们挣钱谋生并实现自己目标。到了40 岁,我们希望有更多的真实性,这也就意味着我们希望做最好的自己,而不是试图去跟随或达到别人的标准。

 

当年过50岁后,大多数人渴望自己的工作更有意义。成熟的人希望发挥出自己的才华和所积累的智慧,这不仅仅是为了证明自己或者到达人生顶峰,而且更是作为一种方式来回馈社会。

 

每次发生重大转变,都需要有不同的东西来令自己感到满意和有价值。有成就感的工作目标会随着时间的推移而变化,需要不断地提高。

 

许多人会作出令人鼓舞的改变,这种改变使其从事令人更加愉快和更富有意义的工作。每个人都应该相信,无论是否遇到障碍,也无论阻力有多大,在职业生涯中,成就感始终是可以实现的。它需要的是持之以恒的投入和有意识的努力。

 

最令人伤心的莫过于:当回顾自己所走过的人生路时,因没有做过自己曾想做的事情而后悔。下决心尽自己最大的能力去做想做的事,在这过程中,可能会犯些错误,也可能会发现自己陷入了需数年时间来克服的绝境或障碍,但最终你将对人生无怨无悔。况且,你得到的可能会比你原来想象的要多,这样的情形经常发生。

 

在退休后寻求第二职业生涯,应该记住下面几个要点:

  • 清楚什么是你不想要的

找到充实的职业的第一步是了解自己目前的状况。假设以前所做的工作没有完全令你感到满足,你的工作角色或工作环境总会有些令人不满的事或总感觉缺少点什么。如果能越准确地识别出这些,那么就越容易保证所选择的下一角色是前一角色的提升,而不只是为了工作而转换工作。

 

转换职业,尤其在后半生转换职业,常常需要巨大的投入和奉献,所以一定不能出错。最好的方法是列出所有困扰着你事情。这样将会更加清晰地、更加现实地看待现有工作的缺陷以及可以采用的改善措施。通常,所需做出的改变并没有最初感觉的那么巨大。

 

  • 设立理想的目标

一旦弄清了自己不想要什么,接下来就要专注于你想要什么。这是一次实现梦想的机会,要想到任何事情都是有可能实现的。理想主义者认为,人可以挖掘出自己真实的愿望。有大志是非常重要的,因为它有助于找出什么东西对自己真正重要,这也是实现理想的秘诀。不管别人说什么都好,只有你真正想要的东西才能真正令你感到满足。此外,一旦开始考虑你想要的东西,你就会特别留意新的机遇,去实现你正在追求的目标。

 

刚开始展望自己想要什么时,可能并没有深入到很多细节的问题。因此,开始时跟着你的激情、自豪和喜悦等感觉走。问问自己,是什么驱使我大清早一骨碌从床上跳起来?是什么给我一股动力?是什么在支撑着我和鼓励着我?是什么让我感到骄傲和满足?什么是我想看到的、听到的和感受的?如果你觉得这一步骤令你头疼,那么就好好利用你的创造力,把它变得更容易些。与其苦苦思索,不如开始拿起笔在纸上涂一涂或画一画。

 

你不需要有任何的艺术天赋,只需有尝试的愿意和一些彩色标记笔!找一些你最喜爱的杂志浏览一遍,找到几张代表你想要的东西的图片,然后把它们组成一个拼贴。完成这些后,向你可信赖的朋友描述其含义。这种练习将使你更清晰地知道想要什么,也将鼓舞你朝着实现这一目标而努力。

About us > 7 Dimensions of Wellness & The 4 Ages in a Life Cycle > Vocational Wellness

Tired? Or retired? Plan a new vocation (Part 1)

You only live once and your lifetime is a unique opportunity.

Image
Share

Facebook Email

Related Topics


Definition

Vocational Wellness refers to the ability to gain personal satisfaction from our endeavours - be it a career or voluntary work - while maintaining a healthy work-life balance.

 

The vocationally well person achieves personal satisfaction and fulfillment through work that is consistent with his or her personal values, interests and beliefs. A person who is meaningfully engaged in his or her vocation finds it personally rewarding to contribute his or her skills, experiences and talents to work. Vocational wellness extends beyond work to volunteerism. Everyone has a unique gift, talent, vocational skill or strength that can be used for the benefit of the community. The investment of time and energy is returned immensely multiplied, thereby enriching life, rather than consuming one’s energies and resources.

 

And only you can decide what you are going to make of it. What you choose to do in your life, the work you do, will affect the kind of person you become and the legacy you leave behind.

 

As we go through life, there are many changes in the purpose of work and it is inevitable that we need to change in order to continue to grow, and to suit the new purposes that develop. When in their 20s, people are proving themselves; in their 30s, they are achieving and earning. By 40, people want more authenticity, meaning they want to be at their best while being themselves rather than trying to fit in or live up to someone else’s standards.

 

By the time they reach their 50s and beyond, most people yearn for more meaning in their work. Mature people want to use their talents and accumulated wisdom, not just to prove themselves or to get to the top, but as a way to give back to society.

 

With each major shift, something different is required for your work to be satisfying and rewarding. Fulfilling work is a moving target requiring continuous improvement. 

 

Many people make inspiring changes leading to more enjoyable and rewarding careers. One should believe that regardless of the obstacles, it is always possible to achieve fulfilment in your career. It takes commitment and a conscious effort to make it happen.

 

The saddest thing is when people look back at their lives and regret not having done things they wanted to do. By deciding to give it your best shot, you may make mistakes, you may find dead ends or barriers that take years to overcome, but you will not regret your life. And chances are good that you will achieve much more than you thought possible.  

 

Here are a few things one should keep in mind, when finding your second vocation after retirement: 

 

Be clear about what you DON’T want


The first step towards finding a fulfilling career is to look at your current situation. Assuming you were not completely fulfilled in what you did, there would have been something wrong or missing from that job role or work environment. The more precisely you can identify it, the easier it will be to make sure your next role is an improvement so that you don’t just end up jumping jobs for the sake of keeping yourself occupied.

 

A career change, especially later in life, is often a big commitment, so you will want to make sure you get it right. The best way is to list everything that bothers you. By making this list, you will become much clearer and more realistic about what was actually wrong with your job and what steps you can take to improve it. Often the changes needed may be less drastic than it feels at first.

 

Envision the ideal


Once you have clarified what you don’t want, focus on what you do want. This is the time to dream, imagining that anything is possible. With an idealist viewpoint, you can tap into your true desires. Dreaming big is vital because it will help you identify what is really important to you. And that is the secret to fulfilment. Only what you truly want will satisfy you, no matter what others may say. Also, once you start thinking about what you want, you will be alert to new opportunities to create what you are looking for.

 

When you first start envisioning what you want, you may not have a lot of the details. So start with the feelings you want – the passion, pride and joy. What makes you jump out of bed in the morning? What gives you a surge of energy? What supports you and nurtures you? What warms you with pride and satisfaction? What do you want to see, hear and feel? If you find this step difficult, make it easier by tapping into your creativity. Rather than thinking hard, start doodling, or paint a picture.

 

You don’t need any artistic talent, just some willingness to experiment and a few coloured markers! Or look through a few of your favourite magazines to find images that represent what you want and put them together to make a collage. When you are done, describe what it means to you to a trusted friend. The exercise will bring much more clarity and inspire you towards making it happen.