活跃乐龄理事会 > 活跃乐龄与健康的七个领域 以及生命周期的四个阶段 > 生理健康

年长者的体格锻炼 第1部分

我们都希望身体健康,並且能延长寿命。体格的锻炼能让乐龄人士过着健康及充满活力的生活,不会因疏忽照顾而成为一种生活的障碍。

Image
分享

Facebook Email


定义

生理健康是指通过定期运动,均衡的饮食和正常作息的积极生活。

 

年长者的体格锻炼包括四大关键练习:

  1. 对年长者来说,力量训练可能是保持晚年健康的最重要的元素。力量训练能使我们维持一定的肌肉,同时也使我们的骨骼强壮以避免骨折、滑倒和跌倒。
  2. 耐力练习有助于改善心血管调节,保持心脏、肺和动脉健康,并帮助我们抵御可引起四肢循环问题的疾病,如糖尿病。
  3. 平衡练习能减少跌倒的机会。
  4. 拉伸运动能保持身体的灵活性,进一步减少跌倒的可能性。

 

通过改善这四种主要练习,人生的各个阶段都将受益。年长者进行体格锻炼的好处包括:

减肥——随着年龄的增长,我们的新陈代谢自然就会放缓。新陈代谢放缓再加上肌肉减少最终导致体重增加。通过锻炼,年长者能够提高新陈代谢速度并保持肌肉强壮。这样就达到减肥的效果并有更好感觉。

 

强化骨骼——随着年龄的增长,骨质疏松症是一个长期需面对的问题,对女性来说,更是如此。锻炼能提高耐力和力量,除此之外,负重练习还能改善骨骼的厚度。这也就解释了为什么力量训练应该是年长者健身计划一部分的原因。

 

力量训练并不就是要使用大的或重的物体。现已经证明,即使轻度或适度的重量对强化骨骼也是有效的。

 

提高柔韧性和平衡能力——对那些容易跌倒的年长者,锻炼是提高平衡性和柔韧性行之有效的方法,并可降低或消除跌倒的风险。

 

抵御疾病——经常锻炼将会降低胆固醇和降低患糖尿病、中风、骨质疏松症、癌症和心脏病的风险。一些研究甚至表明,锻炼可以防止或减缓记忆力衰退、痴呆和老年痴呆症(也称阿尔茨海默氏症)。

 

就如何开始实施强身锻炼计划,下面给出一些小贴士:

检查身体——如果你已多年没有积极锻炼,这就显得尤其重要。让医生进行一次全面的身体检查非常重要,这样才能确保你有足够强的体格来进行身体锻炼。

 

循序渐进——年长者如果有一段时间缺少活动,那么身体就需花些时间来适应新的锻炼项目。所以刚开始锻炼时,一定要放慢速度一步一步来,以避免用力过度而导致肌肉拉伤、疼痛或任何心脏病的发作。

 

设立目标——身体锻炼对年长者来说意味着什么?你是想减肥、保持强壮,还是想能够与孙辈们保持同步?你想通过健身计划来达到什么样的目标?

 

选取项目——你想做什么锻炼?如今有数以百计的活动项目可供选择:步行、骑自行车、跳舞、力量训练、游泳、远足等。当你试图从中选出活动项目时,先想想自己的状况及个性。你想单独锻炼还是与一大群人一起锻炼(锻炼合作伙伴间可以互相促进)?这样从一开始就能指导你选择理想的练习项目。

About us > 7 Dimensions of Wellness & The 4 Ages in a Life Cycle > Physical Wellness

Physical fitness for seniors (Part 1)

As we all seek to age gracefully, physical fitness for seniors is the difference between living a life of health and vitality or dealing with the constant physical limitations of a body that we did not take care of.

Image
Share

Facebook Email

Related Topics


Definition

Physical Wellness refers to living a healthy and active lifestyle through exercising regularly, eating a balanced diet and caring for the body.

 

 Physical fitness for seniors involves four key components:


  1. Strength training is probably the most important element of healthy ageing for seniors because strength training will enable us to maintain muscle mass while at the same time keep our bones strong to prevent breaks, slips and falls.
  2. Endurance exercises help to improve cardiovascular conditioning, keep our heart, lungs and arteries healthy and help us to ward off diseases like diabetes, that can cause circulation problems in our extremities.
  3.  Balance exercises help to reduce the chance of a fall.
  4.  Stretching keeps our bodies flexible, further reducing the possibility of a fall.

 

By improving these four key components, you will be better off in all phases of your life. The benefits of physical fitness for seniors include:


Weight loss – as we age, it is natural for our metabolism to slow down. A slowing metabolism combined with a reduction in muscle mass as we age leads to weight gain. By exercising, seniors are able to raise their metabolism and keep their muscles strong. 

 

Strengthen bones – osteoporosis is a persistent problem as we age, especially among women. Exercise not only improves your endurance and strength, but weight bearing exercises also improve the thickness of our bones. This is a big reason why strength training should be a part of your fitness programme.

 

Strength training is not about using large or heavy weights. Even light or moderate weights have been shown to be effective at strengthening bones.

 

Improve flexibility and balance – for seniors who can be prone to falling, exercise is a great way to improve your balance and flexibility and reduce or eliminate your risk of falling.

 

Ward off disease – a regular programme of exercise will lower your cholesterol and reduce your risk of diabetes, stroke, osteoporosis, cancer and heart disease. There are even some studies that have shown that exercise could help prevent or slow down memory loss, dementia and Alzheimer’s disease. 

 

Here are some tips on how you can go about getting started on a programme of physical fitness:


Get a physical – This is especially important if you have not been active for years. It is important for a doctor to conduct a complete physical to make sure that you are strong enough for physical activity.

 

Start slow – if you have been inactive for a period of time, it will take your body time to adapt to the new exercise routine. This is why it is vital to start slow to avoid muscle strains, soreness or any heart problems brought on by exerting yourself too hard.

 

Establish your goals – What does physical fitness for seniors mean to you? Are you looking to lose weight, stay strong or be able to keep up with your grandchildren? What you are looking to accomplish in your fitness programme?

 

Figure out some activities – What do you want to do? There are hundreds of activities to choose from - walking, cycling, dancing, strength training, swimming, hiking, etc. As you seek to figure out these activities, think about yourself and your personality. Do you want to exercise alone or with a group of people (a workout partner can be a great motivator)? This will start the process of steering you towards the ideal exercises.