活跃乐龄理事会 > 活跃乐龄与健康的七个领域 以及生命周期的四个阶段 > 社交健康

年龄只是个数字 第2部分

想为自己的生活增添价值,扩大社交圈子便是其中一种方式,这可通过多种途径来实现。

Image
分享

Facebook Email


  1. 参加低强度的运动。许多人青睐/喜欢的高尔夫便是一项不错的运动。通过打高尔夫球,我们不仅得到了所需要的运动量,也找到了兴趣相投的球友。可喜的是,高尔夫假期现正变得越来越流行。
  2. 选择一项自己一直想做而没有时间去做的爱好或兴趣。一些人可能会去学一门外语,另外一些人,也许会选择学打桥牌。
  3. 旅行!这是人人都想做的、并且永远也不会腻的一件事。毕竟早些年,我们旅行的目的地多数都是适合家庭游的,所以可能会有一长串自己一直等待着探索的梦想城市。好吧,那我们就参加旅游团一起出发,顺便去交一些新朋友!
  4. 参加社工去帮助那些需要帮助的人,这可再充实不过了。和许多来自不同行业的人一起参加社工并紧密接触互动,这是一件多么令人愉悦的事!
  5. 加入俱乐部或协会,给自己创造机会去结识志同道合的人。参加爱笑俱乐部便是一个很好的例子。
  6. 若你在某方面有丰富的专业知识,那就加入志愿福利组织吧。在这,你多年所受的教育和长期积累的经验又可派上用场,多有意义!
  7. 别整天呆在家里,出去多认识一些情趣相投的人并结交一些新的朋友。互联网社交网络改变了传统认识新朋友的方式,结识新朋友已变得容易得多。
  8. 你也可以考虑兼职工作、做些咨询服务,甚至做些在家办公就可完成的小生意。这样生活便多了一种目标,同时也可增加额外的收入和认识更多的人。
  9. 去当地的教堂、图书馆或学校当一名志愿者。这是一种很好的服务社区的方式,同时也可结交到志趣相投的新朋友。
  10. 让自己过得痛快、玩得痛快。出去看场电影或戏剧;出去尽情享受丰盛的晚餐或野餐;参观艺术画廊和博物馆;和朋友一起去水疗中心满足一下;选个下午约朋友到你最喜欢的商城购些物或逛一逛;煮一餐饭与家人共享;或干脆做个老顽童,花一天时间和孙辈们一起玩,享受天伦之乐。如此丰富的节目,不让人羡慕才怪。

 

请记住下面这些事实:纳尔逊·曼德拉(Nelson Mandela)76岁成为南非总统;罗纳德·里根(Ronald Regan)年近70当选为美国总统,并完成了两个任期;德雷莎修女(Mother Teresa)直到享年87岁去世时还在一直为穷人和病人服务;圣彼得大教堂(St. Peter)的圆屋顶是米开朗基罗(Michelangelo)83岁时设计的;美国宪法草案是由81岁高龄的本·富兰克林(Ben Franklin)协助起草的。人们常说,年龄只是一个数字,难道不是吗?

 

当你18岁中学毕业时,什么都还不懂,而现在的你既有丰富的知识和经验,又充满智慧。你现有充足的时间、极大的耐心和非一般的远见,这些,正是25岁涉世未深的你所缺乏的。你现有的养老积蓄,正是而立之年(30岁)的你希望实现的。这些都是非常宝贵的工具,它们可以助你塑造伟大的明天——充满活力、爱和笑声的明天。

About us > 7 Dimensions of Wellness & The 4 Ages in a Life Cycle > Social Wellness

Is age just a number? Part 2

There are many avenues to increasing a social circle that doubles up as a way of adding value to your life as well.

Image
Share

Facebook Email


  1. Take up a low-impact sport. Golf is a favourite with many, as it not only provides much needed exercise but is also played in a group and provides companionship. Golfing holidays are also becoming increasingly popular.
  2. Pursue a hobby or an interest that you have always wanted to but never had the time for. For some, it may be taking up a foreign language while for others, it may be learning to play bridge.
  3. Travel! That is the one thing we all want to do but can never get enough of. Moreover, in our earlier years, most holiday destinations are picked on the basis of family travel and you may have a long list of dream cities that you have been waiting to explore. Well, maybe now you can try travelling in groups and even make some new friends. 
  4. Take up social work. Nothing is more fulfilling than helping those in need. And this can be so gratifying. It also brings us into close interaction with many people from different walks of life.
  5. Join a club or an association that gives you an opportunity to mingle with like-minded people. A laughter club is one good example.
  6. Get involved in voluntary welfare organisations, as these require people with education, experience and time. Your expertise can be tapped in a meaningful way.
  7. Get out there, meet like-minded people and make new friends. Internet social networks have changed the way one can meet new people, making it so much easier.
  8. You can consider part time work, consultancy or even a home-based business, thus adding a sense of purpose, an extra income as well as an avenue to meet people.
  9. Take up volunteer opportunities. These may come up anywhere, from your local church, library or school. This is a great way to serve your community as well as make new and like-minded friends.
  10. Have fun! Go out for movies, plays, dinners and picnics. Visit art galleries and museums. Pamper yourself at the spa with a friend or spend an afternoon with some friends at your favourite mall shopping or just walking around. Whip up a great meal for your family. Or simply spend the day spoiling and pampering the grand children. These are all fun things that most would envy you for.

 

And remember, Nelson Mandela became president of South Africa only at the age of 76. Ronald Regan became the President of the United States at almost 70 years of age and completed two terms. Michelangelo designed St. Peter’s cupola at 83. Mother Teresa continued to serve the poor and the sick till she died at a grand age of 87. Ben Franklin was 81 when he helped draft the U.S. Constitution. It is often said that age is just a number. Isn’t it?

 

You now have knowledge, experience and wisdom on your side, something that you did not have when you were 18. You have time, patience and foresight, something that you lacked at 25. You have life savings, something that you were hoping to build at 30. These are all invaluable tools with which you can shape a great tomorrow - one full of life, love and laughter.