活跃乐龄理事会 > 活跃乐龄与健康的七个领域 以及生命周期的四个阶段 > 社交健康

年龄只是个数字?第1部分

谈到年龄,人们常常会有这样的同感:如今 60多岁的人就像50多岁的人,50多岁的人就像40多岁的人,40多岁的人和30多岁的人差不多。并如此类推。

Image
分享

Facebook Email


这观点的急剧变化源于两种同时发生的因素。第一,现代科技使几乎每一种变老的表象都能快速修复。更好的医疗服务、保健品、健身房、健身和瑜伽练习室以及排毒农场的相继出现,都使得我们现在的身体比以前任何时候都要好。此外,年老的外表也可通过美容得到解决。满头银发让你羞于见人?染上颜色就行了,就这么简单!出现皱纹了?用用保妥适(Botox)吧,这种除皱肉毒杆菌定可帮你忙。被逐渐恶化的视力所困扰?激光一下就行,没想到这么容易解决吧!

 

大多数人都会理直气壮的说:“我又不显得老,为什么要觉得自己老呢?”这完全没有错。

 

另外一个就是家庭结构的变化导致的社会因素。由于现在夫妇少生小孩,小孩因继续深造而远离家庭,或因工作太忙而无更多的时间陪家人共度好时光,所以家庭的规模在缩小。此外,越来越多的子女搬离父母,另建新家,这也是造成家庭规模变小的原因之一。

 

定义

社交健康是指有能力和我们周围的人连接并创造有意义,积极的关系。

 

社交健康的人能体会到自己生活在与环境和社区和谐的状态下,并寻求与它们积极的、相互依存的关系。健康的社会维度提倡对环境和社区的贡献。在提倡过更健康的生活和更好地与社区进行交流方面,社交健康的人扮演着积极的角色。

 

 

所有这些都在告诉我们年长者需好好地过自己的日子,并开始为自己而生活。他们要开始走出家庭的影响,学会更加独立。毫无疑问,50岁人的生活不再会像从前的那样了。

 

这时,他们不该再有退休的伤感,不该再整天坐在家里无所事事地打发时间,去留恋昔日的好时光。也不该再去承受空巢综合症、抑郁症或孤独带来的痛苦。退休、痛失伴侣、子女搬离都不是什么世界末日。

 

他们现在该认识到(幸好许多人已经认识到),机会是属于他们的,美好时光将再次光顾他们。抚养孩子并为他们的教育和婚姻操心等人生最大的责任已经完成,他们现在终于可以专注做自己也许曾久盼着想做而不能做的事情。

 

许多婴儿潮时期出生的人珍视这段黄金时光,抓紧抢回曾失去的机会,补回他们未曾有过的美好时光。这是一个新的开始,我们也确实应该这样认为。令人欣慰地是,很多人退休后都比退休前更忙碌了。

About us > 7 Dimensions of Wellness & The 4 Ages in a Life Cycle > Social Wellness

Is age just a number? Part 1

It is often said about age that the 60s are the new 50s, the 50s are the new 40s,

Image
Share

Facebook Email

Related Topics


Two things have happened simultaneously that have contributed to this drastic change in outlook. Firstly, with the advent of modern technology, there are quick fixes for almost every sign of ageing. Better healthcare, health supplements, gyms, fitness and yoga studios, detox farms – our bodies have never had it better. There are cosmetic ways of tackling signs of ageing as well. Grey hair playing peek-a-boo with you? Simply colour it. See some wrinkles creeping up? We now have Botox. And if deteriorating vision bothers you – laser was never easier.

 

I don’t look old, then why should I feel old? A very fair argument, most would opine.

The other factor is social. Family sizes are shrinking as people are having fewer kids, or their kids relocate for furthering their educational pursuits or are too busy to spend quality family time. More and more children are leaving their parents’ home and creating their own nest, even if it may be in the same city as their parents.

 

Definition

Social Wellness refers to the ability to connect and forge meaningful, positive relationships with the people around us.

 

A person experiencing social wellness is living in harmony with the environment and community, and seeks positive, interdependent relationships with them. The social dimension of wellness promotes contribution to the environment and community. He or she plays a proactive role in encouraging healthier living and creating better communication with the community.

 

All this is now teaching our seniors that they have to get on with their own lives and start living for themselves. They are beginning to come out of the shadows of their families and learning to be more independent. Needless to say, the life of a 50-year-old will never be the same again.

 

No more retirement blues, sitting at home, twiddling thumbs, killing time and reminiscing over the days gone. No more suffering from the Empty Nest Syndrome, depression or loneliness. Circumstances like retirement, loss of a partner or a spouse and children leaving home need not spell the end.

 

It is time for them to realise (and fortunately many already have) that the world is their oyster and for once, time is on their side. Their biggest responsibilities in life (bringing up children, taking care of their education and marriage) have been shed and they are now free to finally focus on themselves – something that they probably haven’t been able to do for a very long time.

 

Many baby boomers look at this golden period as a time to catch up on lost opportunities and make up for the time they never had. It is a new beginning and that is exactly what is should be looked upon as. It is also heartening to note that many are busier in retirement than they were prior to retirement.